Posts by: The Demented One

Back to List

[#][F] The Demented One - 1 Day Ago
Originally posted by Sith_Happens View Post
If you aim at medium range and your target moves to short range before you shoot, do you get the +3? (And conversely, if you aim at short and they move to medium do you lose the +3?)
You get whatever benefit is appropriate to the range you're now attacking from. If you have to aim at all to be able to attack at that range, you don't also get the dice.

[#][F] The Demented One - 2 Days ago
Originally posted by Lanic View Post


Is the same true for effects which change dice of raw damage into successes (where they do not explicitly say that these are post-soak successes)?
Basically, yeah - the conversion applies after the soak conversion.

If the Storyteller wants to change it up and have damage successes/dice conversion count towards soak, that's fine, but I don't think that's the intended procedure.

[#][F] The Demented One - 2 Days ago
Originally posted by Lanic View Post
1. How do successes added to your raw withering damage interact with soak? Suppose that some effect adds 3 successes to your withering damage roll (at least one), your raw damage is 15, and that enemy's soak is 16. Do you bypass soak? What happens if the soak is set to be 18? (The last question is because I'd be incline to accept 1 success = 2 soak in which case, you would still be able to get some withering damage bypassing soak).
They don't really interact with soak at all - they're added directly to the damage roll after the post-soak damage has been calculated.

[#][F] The Demented One - 2 Days ago
Originally posted by Pharsti View Post

Well darn, now I'm confused again.

Specifically in regards the description on pg. 196, it says "Characters cannot move and aim during the same round without some form of magic to permit it."

Does that apply to all movement, or are things like Non-turn Reflexive movement (Disengage, mainly) exempted at all? In the basic scenario I posted (Disengage on Turn 1, Aim on Turn 2, Enemy closes later in same round, before Turn/Round 3), what happens?

1) You can't move because you aimed. No free movement from prior Disengage, you must keep aiming
2) You can move, but doing so ruins your Aim action, because no moving and aiming in the same round (or, choose not to move, keep Aiming)
3) You can move, and you are still Aiming (assuming no other range changes due to moving away from target of Aim)

As an added wrinkle, the restriction on movement is in the same round, rather than turn. You wind up in a weird edge case where a low-initiative character aims, the round ends, and at the top of the next round, this scenario plays out, triggering a Disengage-based reflexive move. Assuming your movement options in in some way limited (Option 1 or 2, here), should 'round' be taken as 'from when you take the aim action, until your next turn'?

Apologies if my question is getting a bit pedantic, I wasn't as clear as I thought I was with my original scenario.
Normally, Aiming means you can't take any kind of move action (basic reflexive move, disengage, rush, whatever). I'd assumed you were referring to a scenario where there's some kind of magic permitting it; sorry.

[#][F] The Demented One - 2 Days ago
Originally posted by Jen View Post
Is it possible for a soulsteel to...not have any souls in it?
That would hardly be soulsteel!

And is it a requirement for the soul to be in eternal torment?
It's not a strict requirement. Figuring out a way to ease the torment of the souls trapped in soulsteel is a thing PCs could try to figure out.

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
The doubles made by Cunning Anglerfish Decoy, can they be used for stuff like being extras in a play, carrying your palanquin, humming in a backing group, holding things, having an orgy with yourself (I'm asking for a friend!), etc? Or is it just distractions?
You'd want Ant-and-Starfish Trick for most of that. They won't act independently of what you're doing with just Cunning Anglerfish Decoy.

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by Sith_Happens View Post
Speaking of storm mothers, do the Inland, White, and/or Dreaming Seas have them or only the Great Western Ocean?
Eric will know better than me, but I don't think they're limited to just the one ocean.

The Dreaming Sea can have little a storm mothers, as a treat

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by Pharsti View Post


So the end result is 'if you choose to move, you lose the Aim bonus', then?

I was mainly curious if you could choose to take the reflexive movement, and still keep the Aim bonus - that would make it a potentially useful tactic against highly evasive melee combatants. Keep out of range while also gaining bonus accuracy, at the cost of rate of fire, essentially. Other rule clarification have made the important distinction between the Reflexive Move Action, Charm-based new instance of movement, and Reflexive out-of-turn movement (like Rush and Disengage). I wanted to see if any of that distinction applied to the movement limitation on Aiming. However, if you don't keep the Aim bonus (which does follow from a direct reading of the rules), then it's only valuable if you have an ally who can prevent the enemy form moving in some way.

Thanks for clarifying!
Moving doesn't automatically make you lose the Aim bonus - it's only if you move out of your weapon's range.

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by soul_porpoise View Post
If someone is knocked prone while flying, do they fall to the ground regardless of how many range bands they were up, are just knocked off centre in the air and still take the prone penalty or something else?

Thanks.
There's no textual definition for the interaction of flying and getting knocked prone. I'd be opposed to "automatically fall to the ground," although dropping one range band makes sense.

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by Jefepato View Post
So, bonus dice from Appearance on social influence rolls are determined before any bonuses to Resolve are factored in (per corebook p. 218).

Are they also determined before penalties to Resolve are factored in?

For example, when a sorcerer trances his victim with Peacock Shadow Eyes for -2 Resolve, is he getting an additional two dice from his Appearance? (Assuming, of course, that his Appearance is at least equal to the victim's base Resolve.)

I had been assuming that the intended rule was "just use the base Resolve without modifiers," but the text does say "bonuses" specifically.
I think "before any modifiers" was the intent.

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by Elkovash View Post
Something that came up in a recent game;

Should a character using a savaging action from a grapple be able to activate a simple charm for use in that attack?
I'd say yeah.

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by limaxophobiac View Post
So after taking the defend other action "The defending character may apply his Parry against any attacks directed at his ward until his next turn.", I've read this 'may' as permissive but not compulory; for any attack against the ward he might apply his parry but he might also choose not to. So if say 2 solars used War Lion Stance on eachother for any attack against either they might choose who of them defends to prevent enemies from focusing either one of them.

Is this correct or do you have to defend against any attack against your ward?
You're correct; it's not compulsory.

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by Lanic View Post
Increasing Strength Exercise explicitly allows the character to increase their "Strength score". It has been clarified somewhere that this does not affect caps for dice pools. What does it affect? Specifically:

1. Does the increased Strength increase withering damage?
Yep.

2. Does it affect how many dice of withering damage can be added by Fire and Stones Strike (it explicitly mentions "Strength score", literally the same words are used as in ISE).
3. Does it affect the maximal number of attacks in Iron Whirlwind Attack or Invincible Fury of the Dawn?
4. Does it affect effects from martials arts, e.g. Tiger style, which add (Strength) withering damage?
No. When an effect refers to your trait rating for purposes of a calculation, it means your base, unmodified rating.

In general which Strength-based calculations take into account the modified Strength?
Basically: a bonus dot in an Attribute is just a bonus die added on rolls will that Attribute, with three exceptions that are all "inherent effects" of an Attribute—Strength letting you satisfy feat of strength minimums, Appearance calculations to determine bonus dice added on influence rolls, and (hypothetically, I guess) Stamina being used to determine soak.

How are the calculations affected when strength is modified by piloting a warstrider?
They still calculate off your base traits.

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by Pharsti View Post
Not sure if this has been answered before, attempts to search this thread and the previous thread hasn't turned up any relevant results. Apologies if I missed something.

Does the reflexive movement you gain from a Disengage nullify the Aim action?

Example:
Anathema Anne has caught Shikari Sam and Immaculate Ivory at a bad time, and engages them in combat. Anathema Anne is at Close range to both targets, and does some action. Immaculate Ivory Disengages, retreats to Short range. Shikari Sam makes a Withering Attack, dropping Anathema Anne's Initiative below all other targets.

Shikari Sam takes his turn, and then Immaculate Ivory takes the Aim action at Anathema Anne, with a ranged weapon. Anathema Anne's turn now comes up. Using any form of valid movement, Anathema Anne attempts to move to Close with Immaculate Ivory. This triggers the reflexive movement from Immaculate Ivory's prior Disengage.
The reflexive move of a disengage or a rush isn't something you're compelled to take—if you'd rather stay still so you can retain some positioning-based bonus, you can (but...why did you disengage/rush in the first place?)

[#][F] The Demented One - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by wern212 View Post
In the Lunar playtest: does the duration extension offered by Endless Masquerade Affliction apply to all uses of Insidious Lunar Transformation, or only of those that transform that target into a human shape?
It only applies to human transformations.