Posts by: The Demented One

Back to List

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/6/2019
Originally posted by JohnDoe244 View Post
Does a practitioner of Nightgale style have to shout with each unarmed strike?
The descriptions of how each style tends to use its unarmed attacks are more of a flavor thing than an obligatory restriction.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/6/2019
Originally posted by Chausse View Post

I'm sorry this wasn't clear but it was precisely my question : what should be the mechanical consequences of a character spending his turn to do a Presence roll against an ennemy battle group when he has no charm or special power ?
With a threaten roll, you're not limited in what you can try to make the target do, as long as it makes since for the threat you're bringing into play to back it up. "Run away before I kill you," "surrender so I don't have to kill you," and the like are all possibilities, depending on the intent of the player making the roll.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/6/2019
Originally posted by Epitome View Post
-Given Lunars can reshape their own age at will, what causes them to have finite lifespans? Basically, how does a Lunar die of old age?
Being able to change your apparent age via shapeshifting is not the same thing as extending your lifespan.

Does a Lunar's true shape age naturally over their lifespan? For instance, would a true shape of a child grow into an adult over the millennia?
Yeah.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/6/2019
Originally posted by JohnDoe244 View Post
Are there any plans to release Simhata stats? (Maybe in Heirs if not in Thousand Devils?)
Yes. 10char

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/6/2019
Originally posted by Uknown DarkLord View Post

If Abyssals still have the great curse, does that mean an Abyssal who goes through a redemption arc and becomes a Solar will still have the Great Curse? Or is the concept of "redemption" not a thing in 3E anymore?
They would still have the Great Curse.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by Sunder the Gold View Post
Can you use Become the Wave and Swift-Striking Tide in response to the same Distraction gambit?
Yes.

If you did, would both count as the same "instant" for the purposes of achieving another level of anima banner? Or are they treated as two separate reflexive actions, and thus separate instances?
Same instant, as they both trigger off the same thing.

If you needed to disengage to use Become the Wave, and spent motes on Threshold-Warding Stance, would those two expenses be happening in the same instant?
Yeah.

Would motes spent on a grappling gambit, a control roll, and a savaging/throwing attack all count as the same instant, or separate instances?
If they're such that you declare them all at the same time, same instant. If you declare some at different times, different instants.


If you spend your turn on a Simple-type Charm that isn't an attack, do you still have "your attack for the turn" for effects that spend such a thing?
You can't use a Simple-type power up Charm and then attack on the same turn. If you have a Charm that lets you reflexively attack but uses up your attack for the round, then you could use the Simple-type power up and then use the Reflexive attack.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by Volivat View Post


Not exactly the scenario I had in mind.

Here goes:

-Doug Dodge starts his turn at close range to Athletics Allison. He makes and wins a disengage roll, and moves out to short range.

-On Athletics Allison's turn, she uses her action to make a decisive attack against Doug, supplementing it with thunderbolt attack prana. This enables her to jump to close range with Doug to attack him.

What happens in this case?

Doug gets his reflexive move and ends up outside of Allison's range.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by Sunder the Gold View Post
For clarity:

You don't see any problem with one duelist allowing the other duelist to leave close range without a disengage action?

Or you don't see any problem with one duelist spending their turn attempting and failing a Disengage action, and only then letting the other duelist allow them to leave close range with a reflexive Move action, despite the disengage action counting as their movement action for the turn?
I don't see a problem with either, although in my game I'd probably ask that players stick to doing it before making rolls to keep things moving on along quickly.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by Electro View Post
In order to use the Stormblast Barrage of a lightning ballista, do both the crew and the artillerist have to take aim actions?
When a siege engine's artillerist aims, reloads, or attacks, that uses up the crew's whole action for the round.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by BrilliantRain View Post
Vivacious Dragon Beauty has the Aura keyword, so it can only be activated in Aura, but it has a duration of One Scene. So, if a DB does a bit of dancing, adds a die or two to go into Wood Aura then activates VDB to gain +1 Appearance, will that appearance bonus last for the rest of the scene, even if the DB switches Auras?
Correct. Charms that end when you leave the appropriate Aura will have their duration listed as "Aura."

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by Chausse View Post
So I have already asked this question to people of the forum but not here, and their response satisfied me until one day I realised I feel it was not consistent with other Charms effects or magical effects in the game.

What should be the effect of a threatening action in a standard situation, ie the threatening character did something cool (anima burning, maybe broke 1 level of size of a battle group but they reformed, etc ...) without any Charm power and the battle group threatened by the character doesn't have "special" anti fear power or Defining intimacies of "I shall die in battle"? Because I swear every campaign someone tries to do that and I have no clue how to deal with as a ST.
I'm assuming that by "threatening action" you mean "doing something that's scary" rather than "making the type of social influence roll that is called specifically called 'threaten.'"

If a player wants to spend their whole turn Doing Something Scary to demoralize a battle group, you should probably just call for a social-influence-roll-specifically-called-threaten for them, and treat whatever scary stuff they did as a stunt. Otherwise, there's no inherent effect for it, although at the Storyteller's discretion it may raise the difficulty of the battle group's rout checks.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by JohnDoe244 View Post
Can battlegroups be Crashed (if you have an effect which lowers their Initative instead of dealing Magnitute damage)?
There's one reference to battle groups being able to spend Initiative, in the engage gambit, so if the Storyteller thinks it makes more sense for an Initiative-lowering effect to reduce their Initiative rather than applying Magnitude damage that's not an unprecedented thing, but it is kind of a headache.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by TheCountAlucard View Post
Robert Vance If three people target you with a Read Intentions at the exact same time, and you wanted to hit all of them with Easily-Discarded Presence Method at the same time, would you need to activate it once, or three times?
You'd have to use it once per person reading your intentions.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by Jefepato View Post
I apologize in advance for the fiddly math question.

A martial artist using Motion of Myriad Legs divides Initiative evenly between his attacks, rounding up, and must be able to assign 3+ Initiative to each attack. Do you check the "3+ Initiative for each attack" requirement before or after rounding up?

To rephrase more clearly (I hope): if a martial artist wishes to use MoML to make three attacks, can he do so when his current Initiative is 7 or 8 (because he'll have 3 per attack after rounding up)? Or would he need at least 9 Initiative to start with?
After rounding.

[#][F] The Demented One - 9/4/2019
Originally posted by Sunder the Gold View Post
Can you effectively clash an opponent's attack with Mirror-on-Water Focus by delaying your action until the tick in which the enemy attacks, and then invoking the Simple-type Charm?
You can delay your action and activate Mirror-on-Water Focus, although it would remain a counterattack with special rules rather than a clash.