Posts by: The Demented One

Back to List

[#][F] The Demented One - 11/1/2018
Originally posted by Therian View Post



I guess my confusion is as written in the KS Draft the martial artists rolls their Manipulation + Socialize against the victims Resolve. Did it change in the final draft?
For the sake of simplicity, I'd just have the Guardian roll its normal pool in place of Resolve.

[#][F] The Demented One - 11/1/2018
Originally posted by Iceblade44 View Post
Wondering, is there a set or approximate number of the exigences that the Unconquered Sun can create? Or is how they work really that different to Exaltions?
Even the most learned savants could only speculate. If the Unconquered Sun is aware of a limit, he ain't telling.

[#][F] The Demented One - 11/1/2018
Originally posted by Therian View Post
How would the Virtuous Guardian of Flame Spell interact with Blinded by Laughter from White Veil Style?
I'm assuming you're referring to the Virtuous Guardian of Flame's ability to detect threats the sorcerer is unaware of. It'd still get to roll against the White Veil stylist's (Manipulation + Socialize), and if it beats it, would provide the normal benefits of a defend other even against an ambush (although the sorcerer would still suffer all the downsides of an ambush if the attacker overcomes the Guardian's Parry).

The same is true of ambushes and defend others generally.

[#][F] The Demented One - 11/1/2018
Originally posted by Alpharius View Post

That's what I thought. What's the official Immaculate line explaining it away on Anathema? Aping the true form of Exalted or just "screw you and your questions, its demon light now make sure to report one if you see it"
Immaculates and lay Dragon-Blooded who are well-versed in the true nature of the Anathema are aware it's because the Solar and Lunar Anathema are themselves Exalted. The peasantry (and the Dragon-Blooded not interested in theology) don't really need to know much more than "it's because they stole the power of the sun and moon."

[#][F] The Demented One - 11/1/2018
Originally posted by Alpharius View Post
I'm sure this jas been answered before but I can't find it, so...

How many entities in Creation manifest anima banners? Like I know most all Exalted save for some exigents if I recall comments on them getting anima banners right, bit does anything else? Because I was thinking about the classification of Solars and Lunars as Anathema and the iconic visual anime power display they share with other Exalted, Terrestrials included.
Only Exalted have anima banners proper, although it's not impossible that something might have a glowy aura that could be mistaken for an anima banner.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by Sakii View Post


Well, you have this Deathlord that has multiple wangs.... and i'll stop there.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by hurum View Post

So DAT will always generate 2 Onslaught - even if you miss with the "first" attack?
No; if you miss the attack roll, there's never a chance for the second attack to proc.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by tonberrian View Post
This has come up before, but apparently not been answered in this thread (Or if it has, my search has missed it). Can you clash a decisive attack with a withering attack or vice versa? Seven Cyclones Rearing (ride charm granting a decisive clash to your mount, 386 core) seems to imply that you can, but that's an odd place to have that clarification.
Yes, you can clash whatever with whatever.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by hurum View Post
I've been thinking about Steel Devil Style's Double Attack Technique and its derivatives, and have a couple of questions on its mechanics:

1) The Charm description on p462 states "Note that both attacks generate Onslaught". At what point are the bonus attacks of xAT generated for onslaught purposes? I can think of a few interpretations, with a huge variation in the charm's effectiveness:

a) paying for DAT gives you 2 attacks for onslaught purposes, generating 2 Onslaught regardless of whether you beat his DV at all.
b) you need to beat his DV (eg 5+ successes vs DV 5)
c) you need to apply at least one success to hitting him a "second time" (eg 6+ successes vs DV 5)
d) you need to trigger the trigger the bonus damage (eg 9+ successes vs DV 5)
The onslaught penalty from the "first" attack is applied to the enemy's Defense before determining if the "second" attack hits (and so on like that, for stuff like Triple Attack Technique).

2) If I a roll say 7 successes using DAT vs DV 5, what happens to the 2 Threshold Successes?
a) They add to damage normally?
b) or are they used up being applied against the foe's now reduced DV of 4?
Any remaining extra successes add to damage normally.

3) can you combo Crane Style with Steel Devil using Hook Swords?
Yep.

4) If an opponent used Dipping Swallow Technique or another DV bonus that defend against 1 attack, would it need to be activated separately against each attack of xAT?
No.

5) I assume you cannot apply Fire and Stones Strike or similar to each attack of xAT?
Correct, because it's not actually multiple separate attacks.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by Matt the Bruins fan View Post
Am I correct in understanding that the offensive capabilities of Invulnerable Skin of Bronze—using medium weapons traits for unarmed attacks—are fair game for unarmed Martial Arts usable with medium or heavier armor?
Yep!

Are actual weapons with the Brawl tag (like the cestus, khatar, etc.) also usable with unarmed Martial Arts in general, or only styles that specifically mention them like tiger claws for Tiger Style?
Only ones that specifically mention them.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by Kelly Pedersen View Post
I had a couple of questions about the charm Accord of the Unbreakable Spirit (Exalted Core p. 307).

First, can a follower who is initially included in the charm's effects drop out of the chant/prayer/whatever, do something else, and then later come back in (assuming the Solar who initiated it is still maintaining it)?
I think that'd be fine.

Second, in the "Special Activation Rules" section of the charm, it says "The Solar may pay six motes, one Willpower at the end of an hour to allow her followers to continue on with the method she has established even after she has gone." My question is, what's the duration of this effect? Is it one hour, like the base charm?
It's just another hour.

If that's the case, can the Solar pay more motes and WP at the end of that hour to keep it going? Or is the duration effectively indefinite, and will continue until all the followers affected drop out of the chant/prayer/meditation?
I don't see why not.

In either case, are the motes spent for the special activation committed? Or is the cost a one-time thing, that the Solar can pay and forget about?
Yes, as generally is the case with non-Instant Charms.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Some charms however, say "this evocation cannot purchased for experience. It awakens at no cost when X". Obviously, that can't be bought for experience; but can you get it as one of your starting charms?
By default, no. The Storyteller might be nice if it fits your backstory really well.

An unrelated question:
Heartsong allows you to do Gambits which, if they succeed, inflict emotions, intimacies, persuasion attempts, etc.
If the gambit succeeds, can the target still use WP, Decision Points, etc, to resist these in the normal way?
Yes, they can resisted with anything that would normally let you resist an influence roll of that type that beat your Resolve.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by Sakii View Post


Thank you for answering my true question.
So if i dont skip the social system, can a 2CD or 3CD do an AOE Celestial Bliss Trick?
...my mind just can't get past the concept of an area of effect Celestial Bliss Trick

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by Sakii View Post

I was rereading the core and i found that the Loreleis can inflict an obsession for herself as a major or defining Derangement, and that Derangement can count as an intimacy.
Whats the difference between an Derangement as intimacy and a true intimacy?
To answer literally, a Derangement represents a mental disorder or some similar aberration, rather than a person's genuine feelings and attachments, and is generally harder to remove, albeit vulnerable to some curative magic that genuine Intimacies aren't.

To answer the question I think you're actually going for, the Lorelei's Heart-Drinking Kiss requires voluntary physical intimacy with it, which is typically going to involve the lorelei seducing you with social influence, so it doesn't "bypass" the system in the way that an aura of "you have a Defining Tie towards me, no resisting" does. It's more in the vein of Celestial Bliss Trick.

[#][F] The Demented One - 10/31/2018
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Thanks. I also guess, based on the Ledaal story, that a peasant Outcaste who doesn't know what family they're really from, because they don't know about their grandma's affair with Pelleps Such-and-such, still counts as Pelleps? Because that's the House they should be in, even though they don't know?
(Assuming no adoption is involved)
If it makes sense to that character's player and the Storyteller for them to count as a Peleps, then yes.