Posts by: The Demented One

Back to List

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by Therian View Post
Should Storm Serpants be Legendary Size? They’re described like they are but it’s not in their write-up.
No - they're very long, but they aren't Legendary Size huge.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by Epitome View Post
-When an accessory like a pendant is crafted for the sole purpose of socketing a Hearthstone, does it need to be made from magical material?
It needs to be an artifact, but not all artifacts are made of the magical materials. Arms of the Chosen addresses that topic in greater detail.

-If a Hearthstone has no attunement cost or mote cost (and its effects aren't specific to Exalts), can it be activated by mortals? i.e. could a mortal use the Gem of Day's Light or the Chameleon Stone? (Core p.609-610)

Thank you.
The Chameleon Stone, and many hearthstones with similar effects, explicitly requires it to be socketed in an attuned artifact, which poses an obstacle to mortals - although not necessarily an insurmountable one, with certain artifacts.

The Gem of Day's Light is fair game as written, though.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by JohnDoe244 View Post
Can the Dragon-Blooded supplemental charm Deck-Striding Prana be used on movement rolls which don't use Sail?
Yes. If a Charm says that it enhances something that its associated Ability isn't normally rolled for, like Spirit-Cutting Attack and attacks, it can enhance that thing it says it enhances.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by Aleks View Post
A question on crafting that has come up in our game.

Until now we have treated a crafting project to make an artifact as its own descriptive scene, meaning it is all done as one sequences, which in turn limits players to their inherent motes and Willpower resources (though they do regain 5m per roll, as if it were a combat scene).

An argument was made that since the crafting of an artifact could take years, characters would logically have access to their full mote and Willpower resources for every roll, to which a counter was made that if this was the case, why give Craft Charms costs at all?

Do you have any advice on how this is intended to be done?
The latter is the intent.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by Aleks View Post
A question on crafting that has come up in our game.

Until now we have treated a crafting project to make an artifact as its own descriptive scene, meaning it is all done as one sequences, which in turn limits players to their inherent motes and Willpower resources (though they do regain 5m per roll, as if it were a combat scene).

An argument was made that since the crafting of an artifact could take years, characters would logically have access to their full mote and Willpower resources for every roll, to which a counter was made that if this was the case, why give Craft Charms costs at all?

Do you have any advice on how this is intended to be done?
The latter is the intent.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by Zealot_Vedas View Post
Couple quick questions:

1: If given equal training, matching equipment, and an empty field to fight in, who wins in a fight between a member of the Legion of Silence and one of the Children of Ten Fathers from Volivat?
That depends heavily on what the Storyteller thinks of the Legion of Silence write-up's suggestion that they could possess some secret supernatural powers.

2: Mortals can learn Sorcery, even if they aren't strictly mortals anymore after learning it, but can they learn supernatural Martial Arts? If not, what about enhanced humans, like the aforementioned Sorcerers, Legion of Silence, Children of Ten Fathers, and so forth?
Learning and using Martial Arts Charms requires you to have a mote pool at bare minimum, which mortal sorcerers and Silent Legionnaires don't automatically have just by virtue of being those things.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Of the four example Exigents in the book, which would be suitable for inclusion (in both story and power level) as PCs in a Outcaste DB game, a Realm DB game, or a Solar/Lunar game?

I assume, for example, that the Exigent of a field god would lag far behind Solars in power so be awkward, while the Exigent of a big city would be more suitable.
The power level of an Exigent is not always proportional to the power level of the god who created them - we don't want your choices in Exigent concepts to be limited by the fact that everyone else is playing a Solar. Of the four Exigents written up, Janest is, in broad terms, the most powerful.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by Sagara View Post
Question on the "Follower" Charms in Solar Presence - we're talking Underling-Promoting Touch, Prophet-Uplifting Evocation and Shedding Infinite Radiance from Core and Voice-Empowering Aspect and Divinity-Conferring Touch from MotSE. If the "follower or servant" clause is fulfilled, can they be used on:

Supernatural beings?
On Exalted?
On fellow Solar Exalted in particular??
All of the above.

On a more pointed note, what happens to PUE and VEA's bonus mote pool when targeting Essence users? Ignored? Added to their Personal pool? Kept as a separate Personal pool?
It's ignored - if someone already has a mote pool, you can't grant them another one.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/29/2019
Originally posted by BrilliantRain View Post
Does Makarios still have his “craft things from dreams” charms and you guys just didn’t have the space to print them?
Wordcount was definitely at a premium when I was writing Makarios. As always, the Storyteller is free to add additional Charms to QCs.

Also, can you scribe his sigil on an Exalt? If so, what happens? Nothing?
Unless something changed from my last draft, his Dream-Binding Sigil Merit only applies to sigil-marked mortals. An Exalt, god, whatever, would not be affected, even if they had the sigil on 'em.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/27/2019
Originally posted by Blaque View Post

Does this mean Terrestrial Exalted when used in text is what it historically meant? Dragon-Blooded?
Yeah. We don't tend to do that often, but that's mostly because Dragon-Blooded sounds better.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/27/2019
Originally posted by Sasha View Post
I have a few questions about how Master Plan Meditation works:

1. If I've begun spending contingency points and only have 2 left am I allowed to end my commitment to the Charm early? Or do I have to find some way to spend them?
You can end the Charm at any time, losing any contingency points you have. The bit about not being able to generate new contingency points until you've spent all your points is best read, I think, as saying you can't use it again to generate new contingency that get added to your existing pool.

2. The Charm text says, "This Charm can be triggered after performing any of the valid actions below." Does this refer to paying the cost of the Charm and activating it, or do I activate it beforehand and it's the roll for contingency points that is triggered?
Paying the cost and activating it.

3. If you haven't begun to spend your stored contingency points and perform another valid action do you get to roll again and add to your pool of CP? For example, if I spend a scene forging documents and gain 4CP, then go spend a scene preparing an alibi, do I roll again and add those CP to the 4 I already have?
I don't believe that is the intent.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/27/2019
Originally posted by Blaque View Post
I guess now that it's been a year and a half since that first post, things might have changed in this all. Celestial Exalted seems to me to be a descriptive category still. The things that have been put in it before (Solars and their derivitives, Lunars, and Sidereals) have some similarities in the form of how they are passed along, long lifespans, and of course, patrons who happen to be gods of objects in the sky. And it is usually couched as the higher end of power among Exalts, at least on a spectrum since they're not really tiered.

Terrestrial Exalt seems to still mean Dragon-Blooded, and I guess are what are things are comapred to to say they're on the "lower end" of Exalted power? Is that right? Would Liminals be a kind of Terrestrial Exalted, or are they on par with the Terrestrial Exalted? I kind of just ask since the term seems to be used a bit interchangelby with bot sorts of ways, and I'm actually now curious what the term well, means.
While we may use the terms informally in Ask the Devs and in conversation with fans to set expectations with regards to power level, especially when the question is phrased in those terms, they aren't descriptive categories or tiers.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/26/2019
Originally posted by Sasha View Post
Thanks for the answers, Vance!

This makes me curious: what is a behemoth? Something that's very large, obviously, but are there other criteria?
Behemoth-as-category is discussed on page 117 of the corebook. Briefly, behemoth as an in-setting term is used by savants to terrifying creatures created by ultimately rejected by the Primordials, but is often colloquially misapplied to anything else that's huge and terrifying (or more rarely, just terrifying). There isn't any mechanical or metaphysical distinction between "true" behemoths and "this thing is scary as hell and I don't know what to call it, so that's a behemoth."

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/26/2019
Originally posted by Kell_Tamer View Post
How does automatic damage work with something like Stone Rhino's Skin or Ruin Abasing Shrug? Would 1s in the former be able to reduce some of the auto successes? Would the latter force a roll of those auto successes on the change they reduce?

E.g. 1st setup A withering attack generated 6 dice and 3 auto damage, it rolls 1 success and 3 1s, would it reduce it to 1 withering? or would the autos not be subtracted?

2nd: An attacker generates 3 automatic decisive levels of damage and 5 dice rolling 2 successes, would Ruin Abasing Shrug reroll just the 2, or would it reroll 5? Given its an Essence 3 Solar charm, i'd have assumed the latter but i'd rather get a dev opinion.
You can't make someone reroll an automatic success added to a roll.

Also,
How would you rule magic that converts dice or adds an auto success to decisive damage work with Adamant Skin Technique? Like Fiery Arrow Technique converts a die to an auto success, does it bypass the ability to soak decisive damage? How about something that adds an auto success to the damage roll? Like the roll is 11 dice and 1 automatic success and the target with adamant skin has 13 Decisive soak. Would it nullify the whole thing or would that one bypass it?
I'd lean towards saying that a die converted to a success can't be reduced by Adamant Skin Technique or other stuff that would subtract from the roll.

How would that interact with the water aura effect of Bottomless Depths Defense?
Bottomless Depths Defense's Aura effect just negates straight-up all the damage of an attack.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/26/2019
Originally posted by Sasha View Post
When Mahicara is described as a 'behemoth' does that mean that it's a creature of the Wyld similar to Mata-Yahd, not just an incredibly massive creature? I wasn't sure at first, considering the PDF says, "...the world's makers shaped [it]..." which could mean it's native to Creation, but this quote here makes me think it is. Would you mind clarifying this for me?
Mahicara doesn't originate from the Wyld - not all behemoths do.


God-Wrought Monster allows Mahicara to heal health levels for destroyed body parts and eventually return them to full functionality, but it doesn't mention being able to heal Aggravated damage. Does this mean that a single level of Aggravated damage in a body part's health track is enough to prevent it from fully regenerating mid-combat?
God-Wrought Monster can heal aggravated damage.

I suppose this question is more about the Legendary Size merit in general, but I think it's particularly relevant to Mahicara: do Legendary Size creatures ignore onslaught penalties even from other Legendary Size creatures as long as they are smaller? For example, would the mile-high Mahicara ignore onslaught penalties from an eighteen-foot yeddim's stomp attack? And do things work the same way for grappling and the Overwhelming Might special ability?
A yeddim/warstrider/tyrant lizard would bypass the benefits of Mahicara's Legendary Size and Overwhelming Might.

Is Mahicara vulnerable to social influence? I don't see any Intimacies listed (even though "It has but one desire: to walk from pole to pole" seems like a pretty obviously implied Defining Principle), but I also don't see any Merits outlining types of unacceptable influence like certain non-sapient beings have. My point is: can I convince Mahicara to give me a piggyback ride using social influence?
Mahicara has some kind of mind and can be engaged in social influence, although finding a way to do so may pose some difficulties. Storytellers should feel free to invent Intimacies for it, and potentially add some Social Charms to it.