Posts by: The Demented One
Back to List
Originally posted by Zardoz
Certain effects (such as Blessing of Anton) allow non-exalt to gain charm dice to a roll. Is there a rough rule of thumb for how many charm dice a non-exalt can add to a roll?
There's not an established universal limit. For mortals, I probably wouldn't let them stack Charm dice from multiple unrelated sources; for miscellaneous supernatural beings, I'd pick a cap that's in what the ballpark of what comparably powerful Exalted can hit.
Originally posted by Chronos12
Okay, that makes sense. I have another question regarding Tireless Learner Method. Can you use it multiple times in a single Flowing Mind Prana XP roll?
I believe so but I wish to double check.
No, only once per roll—that's the general way that things that enhance rolls work.
Originally posted by Sunder the Gold
Robert, I'm not sure how to feel about Lunar Shadow-Mind Meditation.
What if your character is not Dr. Jekyll, but already Mr. Hyde?
Does your character then begin to spend most of his time in the shadow-mindset, treating it as his true self so that he can be more successfully resolved in his native cynicism, while painfully redefining his old Mr. Hyde self into a brand new Dr. Jekyll? Eroding his negative Intimacies and cultivating more positive Intimacies?
Or, as Lunars are light as well as darkness, do Mr. Hydes learn a "Bright-Mind Meditation" which fosters a persona who finds it easier to reject negative influence and impossible to form such opinions voluntarily, in order to convince people he considers soft and weak-willed that he's one of them, now?
The narrative causality of Shadow-Mind Meditation arises much more naturally from Lunar themes than the converse. "Adapting an alternative perspective that's more positive, more trusting, more idealistic" just isn't a great fit.
Originally posted by Nicolas Milioni
what is a shintai again?
Special "final form" transformations Infernals have. The introduction of them that I've written for the upcoming Storyteller's Guide goes into more detail.
Originally posted by Zardoz
Can you use Tyrant Mouse Dominion to have both the Giant merit and the Miniscule Merit at the same time? Similarly with Mountainous Spirit Expression to have both the Giant and Legendary Size merits.
Sure, you could be a larger-than-usual rat or tyrant lizard.
How do Eclipses learn the charms of spirits etc? Can they simply learn them, do they need to be aware they exist, do they need to be taught by someone who already has the charm, or do they need to be taught by the spirit (etc) from whence the charm originates.
The spirit has to teach you.
Originally posted by Kelly Pedersen
I had a question about the Solar Socialize charms Heart-Eclipsing Shroud and Hundred-Faced Stranger. Hundred-Faced Stranger lets you create customized sets of Abilities for each persona. Now, the charm says that the personas share the charms of the main personality that they meet the Ability prerequisites for. Now, with Hundred-Faced Stranger, it's possible to create a persona with less than 5 dots in Socialize, who would thus not meet the minimums for Heart-Eclipsing Shroud. Heart-Eclipsing Shroud is worded as being permanent, but with a surcharge to switch between personas, including switching back to the "main" personality. Does this mean that if you create a persona with less than 5 dots in Socialize, switching into it means you can't access Heart-Eclipsing Shroud, effectively "losing yourself" inside the persona? Or do you think it's reasonable to say that a persona can always use Heart-Eclipsing Shroud to revert back to the "real" personality, even if they don't have the Socialize dots required?
I think they should be able to switch back even if they don't have Socialize 5, because that would be an unfun constraint on designing personas.
Originally posted by Kerredai
Judge's Ear Technique (core, pg. 312) says "Any magic which contests this effect goes to a roll-off against the Lawgiver’s (Perception + Investigation), with (Essence) automatic successes on the
Solar’s roll, and 1s in the opposed roll acting as 10s to the Solar’s result."
But when someone's lying to you, aren't you usually rolling against their Guile? Guile is a static value, there's no 1s in any pool to act as 10s on the Solar's result.
The roll-off provision is envisioning coming into play against a Charm like Whispering Silver Serpent in Lunar Manipulation.
Originally posted by Jefepato
Are Infernal Exalted in 3e going to be able to cast Summon Elemental?
In 2e, Infernals weren't allowed to use that spell due to "incompatible Essence," which was sort of vague, and also didn't really explain why they were barred from that particular spell but not any other spells involving the Gaian elements. (I suspect the Doylist reason was that since Infernal sorcery had fewer restrictions on demon summoning, it needed some kind of balancing drawback, but I don't recall any of the writers of that book commenting on the matter.)
We haven't gotten that far along in design, but I'd expect they can.
...For that matter, is there going to be anything interesting or unique about Infernal sorcery in general?
That would manifest through individual Charms (or possibly aspects of a shintai).
Originally posted by shkspr1048
What about and Hekatonkhire(?) or other sub-entities they might generate? Could these potentially be lucid(-ish)?
It's a possibility, but don't take that as me saying "emanations of the Neverborn that are person-like enough to talk to" are guaranteed to show up in the line.
Originally posted by Illaden
Hypnotic Tongue Technique is a indefinite charm without the keyword stackable but the question is... Can I have multiply effects going on different people
Say one person have x instruction and another have Y.
Since it doesn't have stackable I assume not but would need a clarification
Yeah—as a general rule, you can have something on multiple people as long as you aren't stacking multiple instances on any given target.
Originally posted by Accelerator
What's the WoG on Gaia's charmset? I hear rumours of selective mass extinctions being a thing.
Primordial Charm sets aren't a thing we have any plans for.
Originally posted by limaxophobiac
When Naked Fang Draw says you are "adding (Essence or two, whichever is greater) successes to the result, and allowing the Exalt to shift successes from her Initiative pool directly into that of her Offhand Charge."
Does it mean only those successes added by the charm, or can you shift any number of successes from your join battle directly to charge?
Say if you're essence 2 dex 5 and roll 8 successes, could you shift 7 successes at once and start combat with charge 7 and initiative 4, or are you capped at moving only 2 successes?
You can shift however many successes you want, limited only by the capacity of your Offhand Charge pool.
Originally posted by Uknown DarkLord
Are ghost blooded automatically considered creatures of darkness?
Not by default, unless the Storyteller decides they are.
Originally posted by Uknown DarkLord
So how does the decision to exalt a Lunar or Solar work? Are the exaltations flitting around in Creation and when someone acts in a way that qualifies for exaltation does the exaltation relay that up to Luna or TUS for their decision?
Or are they cognizant of certain behaviors and actions that happen in Creation when they have a Solar or Lunar exaltation and then beam/send/attach/whatever the exaltation to the person?
Also, what happens if Luna and TUS want to exalt the same person? Do they give the mortal the choice of which path to go down? Or resolve the conflict before either of them approach or exalt the mortal?
The specifics of that aren't something we're going to get into, as they're irrelevant to actual play.
Originally posted by HamSandLich
So, would Prayer and Prayer associated Charms still fall under the Performance Ability or would they be moved to Occult
I think both Abilities could have prayed-related Charms.