Posts by: The Demented One

Back to List

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/9/2017
Originally posted by Epee102 View Post
CAn Foe Vaulting Technique be used after charms that move you into close range with your target? (Thunderbolt Attack Prana, Leaping Tiger Attack, etc)
No. Foe-Vaulting Method creates a reflexive attack on your turn (albeit one that still counts as your attack for the round). Thunderbolt Attack Prana, Leaping Tiger Attack, and similar Charms that would supplement that attack would have to be declared after you've used Foe-Vaulting Method to create it, which means you already have to be at close range.

A Storyteller might reasonably go the other way on this, though, especially if there's a good stunt.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/9/2017
Originally posted by LeTipex View Post
How would I represent something like a gun duel using the Initiative combat system? (Using flintlock pistols or firewands I mean.)

I mean, sure, I guess it's doable to just have both participants roll join battle, and then make a single decisive attack, but that seems... underwhelming.
Sounds like a good place for a straight opposed roll to me.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/9/2017
Originally posted by ale137 View Post
If you fail a disengage action, can you still move a range band even if the relative distance between you and the opponent remains the same?
You can use your reflexive move action to reposition yourself, as long as you stay at close range to all your enemies, but if you try to disengage and fail, you've used up your move action for the turn and don't get to take another one.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/9/2017
Originally posted by Malfi View Post
If you spent xp on an artifact's evocations, can you reclaim the xp from it or at least spent it on another artifact?
Obviously roleplaying and story factors are important, but I think that a player could let his bond with an artifact wither and forge a bond with another.
Sorry if this has been explained, I searched and didn't find anything.
Not by default, but you can ask your Storyteller.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/9/2017
Originally posted by Kell_Tamer View Post

I appreciate that. So far everything i've seen you guys show has made me happy.

This you might be able to answer, are you going to make a lunar have to buy certain powers to have a shape that isn't what one would consider "classic"? Like will they have to buy in a charm for say a spider as their first shape? I wasn't exactly a fan of having to buy both Essence 3 and 2 knacks to have a bug spirit shape in 2e.
There may be some Charm buy-in required for certain spirit shapes that are significantly advantageous, but I'm thinking of stuff like tyrant lizards here, not spiders.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/8/2017
Originally posted by Therian View Post
The regular move action lets you move closer to another character or a landmark. If you are engaged with a opponent, do you have to disengage to move through the scenery or towards something? Was that the intent? I ask because many cinematic inspirations feature the combatants ranging all over the place while fighting.
If you want to stage a cinematic fight in which, say, two swordsmen are running through a marketplace trading blows, you can simply declare that they're running through the marketplace as the fight goes on, without them needing to use their movement actions or change range bands to do so. In that context, a disengage would be attempting to put distance between yourself and your foe.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/8/2017
Originally posted by Black-Forest View Post
Questions regarding Brilliant Sentinel, the Artifact 3 heavy plate in the core.

1. Dawn of a Hundred Rebukes is a "difficulty 3 gambit that rolls Charisma + Presence against the Wits + Resistance of all Targets." It adds the wearers essence to the Initiative roll, and an automatic success against certain targets.

How does this play out in practice? The wearer rolls Initiative for the gambit (assume they pass), then roll (charisma + presence) vs everyone else's (wits + resistance), and whomever the wearer beats suffers the effects of the evocation?
You make the "attack roll" with (Charisma + Presence) vs. (Wits + Resistance), and then make the Initiative roll of the gambit normally.

2. Unconquered Guardian Defense says "Exalted foes may break free ofthis effect by paying one Willpower and applying their Resolve against the Solar's Charisma + Presence." Is this the opponent's static resolve against the Solar's rolled Charisma+Presence? I assume the Exalted foe can use Resolve-boosters like an excellency, willpower, or stunt? Can the wearer of the armor also stunt, willpower, or excellency their Charisma presence?
It's Resolve vs. a (Charisma + Presence) roll, and both sides can boost their roll using anything they normally could.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/8/2017
Originally posted by OpMegs View Post
Are there any plans to do future Dev Diaries like the one that was done a while back for Perfect Soul? I really liked the insight that gave into the nuts and bolts of her character and background, and was kind of looking forward to getting similar looks at the other 3E Sigs likewise.
I don't think we can speak to the other Solar signatures with the same degree of specific insight as the past entries, because we simply don't have it. For future sig characters, maybe.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/8/2017
Originally posted by Marros56 View Post

To piggyback on this a bit, are you guys still using the prior devs plans for signature characters? Like the Infernal Not!Slayer?
I don't think there were any extensive plans, or at least, if there were, I'm not aware of any that weren't discussed publicly.

Basphomy in Verdigris very much fits our conception of the Infernal Exalted, as well as what the Yozis have twisted the Dawn Caste into. We haven't talked about signature Infernals, as that's still way in the future, but I wouldn't say she's out of the running.

Also, anything you can tell us about the upcoming sigs? like saaay, the Dragonblooded ones?
They're not all Dynasts.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/8/2017
Originally posted by Isator Levi View Post
Is there anybody who would have powers that would not let them play a champion to the oppressed, even if they were inclined to do so?
A yeddim.

More seriously, while almost any Exalt or supernatural being could serve as a champion of the oppressed, it's something that the themes, Charms, and methodology of the Lunar Exalted strongly resonate with.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/7/2017
Originally posted by Kell_Tamer View Post
I know lunars have a big theme of rebellion and the like. Will their themes and powers still allow a lunar to play a more heroic person rather than just an anti establishment person? Like a champion of the oppressed or things like that.
While your other questions are still having their answers worked out, this one is an absolute and unqualified yes.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/7/2017
Originally posted by Leetsepeak View Post
does aggravated damage interact with Exalted Healing at all? If you have an aggravated wound and Exalted Healing, do you heal it like a mortal would, or does Exalted Healing still work on it?
Aggravated damage heals at the same rate as lethal damage, whether the victim is mortal or Exalted.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/7/2017
Originally posted by ale137 View Post
Can i use Dreaming Pearl Form to use other styles charms at short range?
No.

Elegant Weapon Repertoire says
So if i want to figth with a paper fan i lose the bonus to the attack?
Each use of Elegant Weapon Repertoire can only provide one of the effects. Once you've used it to ready a paper fan, you can still use it to enhance attacks with it.

Can you use weapons "created" Elegant Weapon Repertoire to compo with other styles if it fits thematicaly? Like using knitting needles with Ebon Shadow, or maybe two knitting needles with Steel Devil.
Not by default, but your Storyteller might let you.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/7/2017
Originally posted by Sakii View Post
Can you use the Eclipse Oath to affect generations?
An Eclipse Oath can only bind those who are present and parties to its terms, although the Storyteller may deem that the consequence of breaking one falls upon the children and grandchildren of an oathbreaker.

[#][F] The Demented One - 8/7/2017
Originally posted by Iron Phoenix View Post
Is Wood Dragon's Claws a valid form weapon for Black Claw Style? WDC specifically says it's a valid form weapon for MA styles "that use claw-type weapons or rending strikes". Black Claw Style doesn't use claw-type weapons, but "uses exclusively unarmed attacks, emphasizing claw strikes and sudden, lunging kicks." It seems ambiguous enough that it could be ruled either way.
Yes. 10char