Posts by: Eric Minton

Back to List

[#][F] Eric Minton - 11/1/2019
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
I have some questions about the new necromancy spells in Adversaries of the Righteous. (Nice to see, Manda/Emily/Eric/Steffie!)
Honestly, these are all just placeholders; we didn't write up Necromancy years in advance. We'll figure out how it actually works during Abyssals development. The best I can do is tell you my intent when writing this particular QC; please don't take any of this as canonical or binding.[/QUOTE]

Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Can a necromancer make multiple skulls to use Face of Bone through? So he can give one to each of his friends (necromancers are very popular, you know) and so forth? Like how you can make various tree faces with Spoke the Wooden Face?
Or are they limited to one at a time, and if they make a new one the old one no longer functions?
It's deliberately analogous to Spoke the Wooden Face.

Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
The example necromancer is Essence 2 and can animate a Size 2 group of zombies with Raise the Rotting Horde. Is it Size equal to your essence, or just 2? Ie is an Essence 1 necromancer limited to animating a Size 1 group while an Essence 5 necromancer can animate a Size 5 unit?
I used Essence as a benchmark, but I can't guarantee that nothing weird will happen if you scale it up to Size 5.

Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Summon the Shadow-Eaten lets you summon a Mortwright or other monstrous ghost of Essence 1-3. Does "monstrous ghost" include War Ghosts?
And I assume that regular ghosts (Honoured Ancestors, the pissed-off but not insane murder victim we're investigating, the PC's grandma, a dead PC, etc) need a different spell?
The war ghost QC is just a regular ghost with combat-related Charms; I wouldn't define it or the Honored Ancestor QC as "monstrous." It's meant more for ghosts that are twisted or broken by unhale supernatural influences. But right now the specifics are up to the ST.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 11/1/2019
Originally posted by ReshyShira View Post
Is it enough of an increase to justify things like the dynastic stipend? Do they need to adhere to the one child every x years policy thing (if that's an influence at all)?
The stipend ensures that Dynasts can live in sufficient style to set themselves socially above the patriciate, and to ensure that their children (who may someday Exalt) can be raised in Dynastic style and sent to the proper schools. Much of the reason why house matriarchs strike especially poorly pedigreed families from the house ledgers is to avoid paying the stipend to support children deemed unlikely to Exalt.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 11/1/2019
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Did Hearteaters, Umbrals and Dream-Souled exist* at the time of the Usurpation (unlike Liminals)?
Hearteaters and Umbrals yes, Dream-Souled apparently not.

Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Would most Gods and Exalts at the time be aware of their existence (even if they didn't know much about them), or were they secret? So for example, if the players asked a God who was fairly powerful and knowledgeable 1500 years ago what kind of Exalts were around back then, would they at least be able to name Hearteaters, Umbrals and Dream-Souled?
Hearteaters were largely a historical footnote, but their existence was known. Umbrals are more of an open question.

Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
For that matter, would they be able to name Sidereals?
The Sidereals' existence and role probably weren't all that secret during the First Age.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 11/1/2019
Originally posted by JohnDoe244 View Post
Is it fair to say that the usual chances of Exalting as a Dragon-blooded from most to least are approximately as follows (on average -- with "wild deviations from these norms")?

1 Dragon-Blooded parent who has just completed the pilgrimage round the Caul (100%)
2 Dragon-Blooded parents with Well Bred (80%)
2 Dragon-Blooded parents, one with Well Bred
2 Dragon-Blooded parents of normal pedigree (or one with Well Bred, one Thin-Blooded) (50%)
2 Dragon-Blooded parents, one Thin-Blooded
2 Dragon-Blooded parents, both Thin-Blooded
1 Well Bred Dragon-Blooded, 1 Well Bred Mortal
1 Well Bred Dragon-Blooded, 1 Mortal
1 Dragon-Blooded, 1 Well Bred Mortal
1 Dragon-Blooded, 1 Mortal
1 Thin-blooded Dragon-Blooded, 1 Well Bred Mortal
1 Thin-blooded Dragon-Blooded, 1 Mortal
2 Well Bred mortals
1 Well Bred mortal, 1 mortal
2 mortals (infinitesimally small odds)

Because until you posted that, I had Well Bred mortals on a keel with Thin-Blooded Terrrestrials. I'm more interested in Dynastic perception and the effects on proposals and marriage dynamics than the actual hard facts, but any insights you're willing to share would be gratefully received. (Especially an Exaltation rate for two Thin-Blooded parents -- I'm guessing around 20%.)
There's no canonical answer because we never spelled this out in What Fire Has Wrought or The Realm, but this seems like a reasonable extrapolation. I don't want to get into specific odds, other than to note that pedigree isn't as granular as the Merits and Flaws involved, but rather a spectrum; two Dynastic Dragon-Blooded of weak pedigree are probably more likely to have Dragon-Blooded children than two outcaste parents.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 10/25/2019
Originally posted by ReshyShira View Post
Are the children of a well-bred (but mortal) dynast no more likely to be dragonblooded than the average mortal, or do they retain that increased likelihood of having dragoblooded children?
Their odds are many times higher than the average mortal's infinitesimal odds, but still very low.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 10/21/2019
Originally posted by Isator Levi View Post

You do?! I can't recall any instances of that.
The only instance that comes to mind is the Ragara banker illo in Chapter 2 of What Fire Has Wrought.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 10/21/2019
Originally posted by Robert Vance View Post
I believe it's all colors, although if Eric says otherwise, go with what he says.
The books don't specify one way or the other; feel free to go with whichever you prefer.

We specify white jade coinage in the art because it presents a consistent visual style that's easy to convey to artists unfamiliar with the source material without adding to the art notes complexity budget. This can be justified in-setting as the Realm having access to a surplus of white jade, whether from the Mountain Folk and/or other Blessed Isle deposits. But as noted above, the books don't specify any of this; it can be disregarded at leisure if you prefer many-colored jade currency.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 10/17/2019
Originally posted by Anaximander View Post
Was the Exigence "intentional"? By which I mean, when Autocthon and the Incarnae were creating their Exaltations (though I suppose I should also question if Autochthon was involved in 3ed), was there "some left over" and they decided to make use of it, or were the blank exaltations intentionally created for the use of other gods?
There's no such thing as a "blank Exaltation." The origins and nature of the fires of Exigence will be touched on briefly in Exigents: Out of the Ashes, but we won't go into any great detail; if the specifics of the Divine Revolution's events are germane to the story being told at your table, you're better served with free rein to invent the specifics yourself.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 10/16/2019
Originally posted by Epitome View Post
What determines whether an Eclipse's business is "legitimate" for the purpose of their diplomatic immunity? Can an Eclipse fool spirits into thinking they are there on legitimate business when they're just trying to get close enough for a kill? Or does the protection not work if the Eclipse tries to use it with the intent to betray their host?
Legitimate business means actual legitimate business. You can't say "Fakharu sent me to audit your spirit court" and gain diplomatic immunity unless Fakharu has indeed sent you to audit that spirit court.

You can attack your host while on legitimate business. However, as stated in the last sentence of the anima power write-up, doing so voids your diplomatic immunity. Likewise, while your host cannot attack you without just cause while you have diplomatic immunity (as per the second sentence of the power write-up), the flip side of this is that if you do provide just cause, she can indeed attack you. If you're planning an assassination and your host gets wind of it before you make the attempt, that's a pretty just cause.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 10/16/2019
Originally posted by General Trivia Kit View Post
Was Exigence a thing in the First Age?
Yes.

Originally posted by General Trivia Kit View Post
And could a solar have got their hands on a dose(?) and crafted their own Chosen?
No; the Exigence responds only to gods.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 10/16/2019
Originally posted by tonberrian View Post
How much is gold worth in Creation, relative to silver?
Varies from place to place; throughout most of Creation it's only useful for ornamental purposes, and is typically less valuable than silver. Specific valuation is a matter for the needs of the scenario at hand (or fact declaration rolls).

[#][F] Eric Minton - 10/16/2019
Originally posted by Clophiroth View Post
What happens to a Lunar´s clothes, armor, and other things she is carrying when she shapeshifts into an animal? Do they vanish, or should she remove her clothes beforehand so that they don´t break when she turns into a rhino? If they don´t vanish, could Seven-Colored SIlkworm Flourish, in Changing Plumage Mastery, be used to turn the clothes into animal appropiate "clothes", like a pet collar? Mostly so they don´t break. I was thinking about it because the character I will start playing soon will tend to turn into harmless animals to spy, and I want to know if I need hidden caches of clothes around the city :P
"When a Lunar enters an animal shape, any items or equipment that she is wielding, wearing, or carrying that she can’t use in that animal’s shape are sent Elsewhere. This includes almost all artifacts, although moonsilver armor will reshape itself to accommodate any form the Lunar may take, and some other artifacts possess powers that allow them to do so. The banished items return as soon as the Lunar takes a shape that is compatible with them."

[#][F] Eric Minton - 9/14/2019
Originally posted by LostLight View Post
Wait.. wasn't it spoiled somewhere that the illicit Exigent were called the "Sovereigns"? Am I imagining things?
Whoops, it can be hard to keep track of what's been spoiled and what hasn't. So yes, they're the Sovereigns of [REDACTED].

[#][F] Eric Minton - 9/13/2019
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Ah, okay thanks.

Are the other example Exigents like that too, or are they more specific examples? Ie is it Strawmaiden Janest, or Strawmaidens generally?
Strawmaiden Janest and the illicit Exigent are both presented as specific examples of unique Exigents (although players are encouraged to use the chargen rules to replace those individuals with a new Strawmaiden/Strawlad or [REDACTED] in their games). The Architects and the [REDACTED] are both presented more as general Exigent types, though you'll find specific examples elsewhere — whether Revana Quin in the core book, or the homeland of the [REDACTED] in Across the Eight Directions.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 9/13/2019
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
The Architect in the Core book is an Exigent of the City-God of Wu Jian; is the example Architect in the Exigents book also an Exigent of the City God of Wu Jian (or indeed, that particular Exigent from the Core), or a different City God?
Exigents will present the Architects as a complete (albeit narrow) Exalt type and provide the tools to produce your own Architect from the city of your choice. (Revana Quin will return from the core book for the chapter fiction.)