Latest Posts

[#][F] The Demented One - 1 Day Ago
Originally posted by Mynorin View Post
Did you, by chance, mix those two Charm names up? I read it as HMU triggering off the dice from DIT rather than the other way around.
Indeed I did.

Regardless, if/when you get a chance to revisit the 3e Core book, would clarifying some of these Charm interactions and effects be on the hypothetical table?
It's an if, but I would if I had the opportunity.

[#][F] The Demented One - 1 Day Ago
Originally posted by ThomasM View Post
My apologies if this has been asked before but I did not find it. The core book states that if you take Brawl as a Caste / Favored ability then you can take Martial Arts as a Favored ability. Does this mean that:

1. You choose which to take and the other is not favored;
2. You take both as favored but they both count towards your total number of Caste / Favored abilities; or
3. You take both as favored but Martial Arts is considered an additional Favored ability (since most players will focus on one ability or the other)?
If you pick one, the other also counts as Caste/Favored, without counting towards your maximum.

[#][F] The Demented One - 1 Day Ago
Originally posted by Mynorin View Post
I hate to be That Guy that brings up Solar Craft Charms from the Power Tree again, but ...

How does Holistic Miracle Understanding work exactly? I can't seem to find a definite answer anywhere, and it and Divine Inspiration Technique are not worded particularly well. I'll quote the two Charms below just for easy reference, but I recognize you've already clarified DIT's effects on Craft rolls.





A direct reading would indicate that when you roll the non-Charm dice from Divine Inspiration Technique generated from the initial Craft roll (i.e. for the very first time during this Craft roll), if those non-Charm dice generate 3 or more successes all on their own, add an additional 3 non-Charm dice to the resulting DIT-generated dice from them creating additional multiples of 3 successes for the overall successes.

So, if you get 29 successes off the initial roll, you get 9 more non-Charm dice from DIT. These dice generate 4 more successes, giving you 33 successes total and an additional 2 non-Charm dice from DIT. HMU activates because those 9 DIT dice gave at least 3 successes by themselves, giving you 3 more non-Charm dice. You roll those 5 and get another 3 successes, bringing you to 36 and another non-Charm die from DIT. This is no longer the "initial roll" and so HMU doesn't give its 3 non-Charm dice.

Only ever getting 3 non-Charm dice from this Charm seems really underpowered to be the effect of an Essence 4 Charm, considering the effects of other, lower Essence Charms in this tree. So perhaps a literal reading of the Charm might not be the approach here.

A second interpretation I've seen is that HMU upgrades DIT to give 4 non-Charm dice per 3 successes on the Craft roll rather than a single non-Charm die. That seems ... rather overpowered, but I have a hard time gauging what effects are in keeping with a given Essence level.

A third interpretation would be to add 3 non-Charm dice after any use of DIT whose dice generate 3 successes by themselves, ignoring how those successes might bring the total Craft successes to a new multiple of 3. So having 31 successes on the Craft roll and rolling 2 more successes from DIT dice would not trigger the effect of HMU, even though it brought you to 33 total successes and generated a new non-Charm die from DIT.

I feel like I've rambled on enough on this; this is something that's off-and-on occupied my thoughts. So I figured I'd ask now that I have an account. Any clarification you can give would be really appreciated. Thanks!
Once again, we return. ^_^

My reading of Divine Inspiration Technique is that you only get the bonus once, and that it can only trigger off the dice generated by Holistic Miracle Understanding.

[#][F] The Demented One - 1 Day Ago
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
That's what I assumed, but Eska's write up says she can use her Stamina excellency to buy up to (Stamina) extra dice on a Stamina roll, or (Stamina/2) extra points of soak against an attack, or (Stamina+Attribute)/2 points of soak with an appropriate stunt.
So, how does that work?
The Strength and Stamina Excellencies are an exception to the norm for purposes of buffing their dice cap.

Also, how does Eska's soak-increasing excellency interact with turning into a bear or other high-soak animal?
Animal form soak doesn't count against your dice cap. Whole different balance metric than buffing dice pools.

[#][F] The Demented One - 1 Day Ago
Originally posted by The Wizard of Oz View Post
Can you stunt damage rolls? (Either withering or decisive)
Can you stunt soak?
No to both.

[#][F] The Demented One - 2 Days ago
Originally posted by rj.au View Post
Does that mean that you're abandoning the idea that mass produced artiafacts don't have evocations,
I don't think we've ever said anything to that effect.

or is gunzosha armor now a broad category of similar artifacts rather than one specific model? Or an exception to the normal rules about what artifacts get evocations?
Each suit of gunzosha armor is its own individual artifact, so they're gonna have varying Evocations.

Also, are we going to get stats for dragon armor as well, or just gunzosha armor?
Just gunzosha armor for now.

[#][F] The Demented One - 2 Days ago
Originally posted by reseru View Post
Will the Wanasaan receive more attention in Heirs as an Outcaste group?
Some, although not as much as groups like Heaven's Dragons or the Cult of the Violet Fang that haven't gotten much wordcount at all.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by Jetstream View Post

Anyone go with Avaku? And if so, are we gonna find out what the hell “of Ways” refers to? :P
Cynis Denovah Avaku wasn't chosen as a backer character for Heirs to the Shogunate.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 3 Days ago
Originally posted by Sakii View Post
Are there four or five dot artifacts in Heirs?
At present, no five-dot artifacts but several four-dot artifacts. Specific dot ratings may be subject to change during development, however.

[#][F] The Demented One - 4 Days ago
Originally posted by TheCountAlucard View Post
Now that Resolve keys off of Wits, I take it Lunars have a proper mental defense this time around?

​(As opposed to "Commanded to Fly.")
Yes, although they still have Commanded to Fly in Manipulation.