All Posts

[#][F] Eric Minton - 12/28/2019
Originally posted by BrilliantRain View Post
Mela’s Coil in Arms also seems like a good analogue for Air Dragon Armor too.

Is there any cool artifact armor in Heirs?
The Lookshy chapter will have info on gunzosha armor, and a Kickstarter backer requested a suit of articulated plate for the artifact chapter.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 12/28/2019
Originally posted by DrLoveMonkey View Post
What are the chances that we'll see Dragon Armor in any upcoming supplement?
It's unlikely; as you note, there's not much of a place for it in upcoming books.

Originally posted by DrLoveMonkey View Post
Or would it basically just be equivalent to artifact armor with whatever evocations we might want and not really worth making a separate thing?
Pretty much! The magitech-themed Evocations on Cathedral of Sublime Annihilation (in Arms of the Chosen) should serve as a good guideline of what that would look like; it's really just a matter of flavoring what are otherwise normal Evocations in a dragon armor-ish way.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 12/27/2019
Originally posted by Epee102 View Post
So the Heartflame seems to be an elemental with in the power of a sorcerer to summon and bind at the terrestrial circle--what happens, however, if it's essence exceeds 3 while bound? Does it break free of its bonds?
There's nothing in the spell description that says the elemental's Essence needs to remain 3 or below, so as written it should remain bound. The Storyteller may wish to rule otherwise, but if so, should discuss it with the player before the elemental is summoned rather than afterward.

I'll make a note of this to discuss with the Hundred Devils developer, and to consider more broadly if we get to write our planned book on sorcery.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 12/27/2019
Originally posted by shkspr1048 View Post
Is there a scheduled date for the beginning of the Exigent Kickstarter, or does it depend on what projects are ready at a given time?
There is no officially scheduled date as yet; specifics are up to the folks running things at Onyx Path.

[#][F] The Demented One - 12/23/2019
Originally posted by Jen View Post

Thanks, Vance So sorcerers and magical-enhanced people like Ku Nenaveya would all count as mortal then
If they've got a mote pool, like Ku Neneveya, they're almost definitely not mortals.

[#][F] The Demented One - 12/23/2019
Originally posted by Jen View Post
Can the Thaumaturgist merit actually allowing you to manipulate essence for the purpose of crafting Artifact?
No.

And I can't find a definition for "mortal" in the Core book's Lexicon, is it pretty much just a synonym for "human"?
"Not an Exalt, spirit, God-Blood, or other supernatural creature."

[#][F] The Demented One - 12/23/2019
Originally posted by Nilihum View Post
For Linguistics charms that lack the Written-only keyword what kind of actions do they enhance? Can they be used in spoken conversation to make social actions or is Linguistics completely incompatiible with the spoken word?
Linguistics normally can't be used for spoken social influence, but Charms like that (e.g. Unbreakable Fascination Method, Twisted Words Technique) allow it.

[#][F] The Demented One - 12/23/2019
Originally posted by autXautY View Post
If a Realm Dynast made a piece of First Age Artifice (the rules term, not referring to something made in the first age), would it be confiscated by the Empress, or would they keep it?
If confiscated, would the Empress try to pay them?
That's so rare a circumstance that there's not going to be any hard and fast procedure for it.

[#][F] The Demented One - 12/23/2019
Originally posted by Jefepato View Post
Would Phoenix Renewal Tactic allow a Solar to potentially resist being destroyed by an Immaculate's Soul Mastery?
No. Soul Mastery isn't a shaping effect, and it has a clear means of defense.

[#][F] The Demented One - 12/19/2019
Originally posted by aluminiumtrioxid View Post
WFHW questions:

One-With-Earth Embodiment: can you use it to move into an earthen structure within close range that inaccessible to your opponent, then move out to short range on your next turn without disengaging? Eg. you're fighting someone in a room with stone walls, use OWEE to move into the wall (you're moving away but staying within close range, so disengaging is not required), then walk out on the other side of the wall next turn (disengaging is not required as your opponent is unable to meaningfully oppose it).
They still get to oppose your disengage roll, although the Storyteller may want a good stunt to explain how they do that.

Flow With Strife: using it to negate damage completely counts as dodging the attack - does this mean the attacker loses Initiative as if they missed instead of resetting to base?
No. It only counts as a successful dodge for you.

Eternal Death-Banishing Blossom: this Charm deals (Init/2) damage in an AoE, but it doesn't involve making an attack action and the text doesn't say you reset to base after using it. Is this intentional, or was it meant to reset the user to base Initiative?
It's not a decisive attack and doesn't reset your Initiative.

Decisive damage reducers such as Earth Bears Witness and Ripples-on-Water Defense: when is the user supposed to announce them? The Aura benefit of Impervious Skin of Stone allows it to be used after being hit by an attack but before damage is rolled, implying the default behavior is "announced after being targeted by an attack". However, Bottomless Depths Defense explicitly calls out that it must be declared before the attack is rolled, implying that this is not the intended default behavior with abilities that negate decisive damage.
Before the attack roll unless otherwise specified.

Related: if a character uses, say, Earth Bears Witness to reduce a decisive attack's raw damage below her Hardness, is she allowed to decline applying Defense against the attack, ensuring that she is hit and forcing her opponent to reset to base?
Nah.

Semi-related: can the Invulnerable Skin of Bronze's Invincible God-Metal Flash ability be used in the same instant as a Hardness-granting effect that is otherwise incompatible with armor? IGMF cancels ISoB, therefore causing the sorcerer to become unarmored, but it has to be resolved first, so this shouldn't be legal if all Charms enhancing the same action actually go off at the same time.
You can't declare something that's incompatible with armor while you're still wearing armor.

Rippling Water Strike: does the water aura effect replace the baseline (damage = [weapon] + [Strength] + [Dexterity]), or is it in addition to it (damage = [weapon] + [higher of Dexterity or Strength] + [Dexterity])?[
The former.

Flow Reversal Strike: if it incapacitates the opponent, does he still take withering damage, increasing the Immaculate's initiative upon resetting
Yeah.

If the former, what's the wound penalty of an incapacitated character?
Call it basically -4.

Finally, is the withering damage (wound penalty) points, or is it that many dice?
It's straight points, no roll.

[#][F] The Demented One - 12/19/2019
Originally posted by Jefepato View Post
The rules for combining different Martial Arts styles seem simple enough at a glance: you can only combine the Charms in an attack if your weapon of choice is compatible with all the styles involved.

What about Charms that don't involve attacking or otherwise using a weapon, though? Can you activate Celestial Tiger Hide and keep it going while you attack with a sword? Can you use Serpentine Evasion to dodge while you've got a firewand in your hands? Do you still get the soak benefits of Earth Dragon Form (though obviously not the dice bonus on attacks) if you're swinging a scythe around?

The impression I get from corebook p. 426 is that style weapons only limit the enhancement of attacks and Parry, but I thought I should double-check that this is the intent.
Your impression is correct.

[#][F] The Demented One - 12/19/2019
Originally posted by TheCountAlucard View Post
You've made me a very happy abomination.

Incidentally, is there anything on you or Vance want for Christmas that an anonymous generous-feeling monster might be able to provide over the Internet?
I'd appreciate donations to the Southern Poverty Law Center, or similar groups.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 12/19/2019
Originally posted by The Unsung Hero View Post

Can we correctly interpret this response to mean that both books have already been pitched so it's just a question of response order?
Yes, that's correct.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 12/19/2019
Originally posted by prototype00 View Post
With regards to Amatha Kinslayer’s Exalted Dragonblood daughter, is she a member of House Peleps (not matrilineal) or House Cynis (matrilineal)?
Cynis. Amatha was a mortal Dynast, but a Dynast nonetheless; her husband joined her household, and their child took her family name.

[#][F] Eric Minton - 12/19/2019
Originally posted by TheCountAlucard View Post
Apologies; I was distracted and forgot this was “Ask the Devs” and not “Ask a question, get an answer.”

And now, a dev question: Which should we expect to see first, a sorcery book, or a manses/demesnes book?
That largely depends on the order in which we receive book pitch approvals from Onyx Path.